Cyberspace of Shujun LI >> Digital and Multimedia Forensics - Standards and Best Practice Guides



This web page is a collection of international/regional/national/industrial standards and best practice guides on Digital and Multimedia Forensics.


Key Standardization and Metrology Bodies: ISO (International Organization for Standardization) IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission) (ISO/IEC JTC1/SC27 IT Security techniques) ITU (International Telecommunication Union) (ITU-T SG17 Network Forensic and Vulnerability Organizations) Internet Society (ISOC) (Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF®)) ASTM International (Committee E30.12 on Digital and Multimedia Evidence) BIPM (Bureau international des poids et mesures/International Bureau of Weights and Measures) OIML (Organisation Internationale de Métrologie Légale/International Organization of Legal Metrology) emotion icon European Committee for Standardization (CEN) Pan American Standards Commission (COPANT) Pacific Area Standards Congress (PASC) emotion icon British Standards Institution (BSI) (BSI IST/33 IT - Security Techniques) American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Deutsches Institut für Normung (DIN) 中国国家标准化管理委员会 (Standardization Administration of the People's Republic of China) (中国标准在线服务网) 国家质量监督检验检疫总局 (General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine of the People's Republic of China) 中国标准化研究院 (China National Instiute of Standadization) 中国计量科学研究院 (National Institute of Metrology, China)
Key Certification and Accreditation Bodies: International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC) International Accreditation Forum (IAF) European co-operation for Accreditation (EA) European Federation of Associations of Certification Bodies (EFAC) ASCB(E) - Accreditation Service for Certifying Bodies (Europe) Inter-American Accreditation Cooperation  (IAAC) Pacific Accreditation Cooperation (PAC) Asia Pacific Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (APLAC) emotion icon United Kingdom Accreditation Service (UKAS) Association of British Certification Bodies (ABCB) ASQ (American Society for Quality) ANSI-ASQ National Accreditation Board (ANAB) Forensic Specialties Accreditation Board (FSAB) National Association of Testing Authorities (NATA), Australia International Accreditation New Zealand (IANZ) 国家认证认可监督管理委员会(中华人民共和国国家认证认可监督管理局) 国家认证认可监督管理委员会认证认可技术研究所 (China Certification & Accreditation Institute) 中国合格评定国家认可委员会 (China National Accreditation Service for Conformity Assessment) 中国认证认可协会 (China Certification & Accreditation Association, CCAA) 中国认证认可信息网 中国信息安全认证中心 (China Information Security Certification Center)

ISO International Harmonized Stage Codes

ISO27k (ISO/IEC 27000-Series) Standards

This series is about information security and several define guidelines to be followed by digital forensics labs when hanlding digital evidence. The most important standard is ISO/IEC 27037, which defines guidelines related to digital evidence and is currently in the DIS stage. As a more general standard, ISO/IEC 27001 is followed by many digital forensics labs and service providers.

ISO/IEC 17000-Series Standards

The ISO/IEC 17025 plays an important role in digital forensics industry. UK Forensic Science Regulator's Codes of Practice and Conduct recommends this standard and ILAC-G19 (see below). But there is a debate if ISO/IEC 17025 is the best standard to follow for digital forensics practice.

Other ISO/IEC Standards

ASTM International Standards

The ASTM standards seem to be based on SWGDE's best practice documents. ASTM has a committee E30 working on forensic sciences, whose subcommittee E30.12 is working on digital forensics. The E30.12 subcommitte has produced two standards and been working on two new WKs (work items).

Other International Standards on Digital Forensics

Other Related International Standards

National Standards


British Standards Institution has published one UK standard on digital evidence and four books to support implementation of this standard.


NIST recommendations are often considered as standards.



To be added...

Best Practice Guides




Key Stakeholders: Home Office (CAST - Centre for Applied Science and Technology) Forensic Science Regulator The Association of Chief Police Officers of England, Wales and Northern Ireland (ACPO) College of Policing (National Policing Improvement Agency (NPIA)) Ministry of Justice (MOJ) (Old Website) Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) Law Commission Metropolitan Police Service (MET) emotion icon Home Office Scientific Development Branch (HOSDB, currently known as CAST)


Key Stakeholders: Scientific Working Group on Digital Evidence (SWGDE) Scientific Working Group on Imaging Technology (SWGIT) Facial Identification Scientific Working Group (FISWG) emotion icon American Society of Crime Lab Directors (ASCLD) (ASCLD Laboratory Accreditation Board (ASCLD/LAB)) Department of Justice (DoJ) (Office of Justice Programs; National Institute of Justice (NIJ), Active NIJ Standards and Comparative Test Methods; CCIPS - Computer Crime and Intellectual Property Section; Offices of The United States Attorneys (USAO), NAC - National Advocacy Center, EOUSA - Executive Office for United States Attorneys) Department of Homeland Security Federal Judicial Center (FJC) Federal Rules of Evidence

Only one revision exists, which was created (or modified) by hooklee at Wednesday, March 18, 2015 7:57:54 AM.
This page was locked and can only be edited by administrators.

HomeIndexRecent ChangesPreference

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional


Germany (CET)